Romeo and Julian

Do you know what is harder than being in love with someone? Being in love with someone who is gorgeous and gay and famous. It is always a painful surprise when I find out that the man I dream of dreams of a man himself. Although our world is rather accepting towards homosexuals and so am I, it always shocks me when I find out that a handsome, talented and successful man in the limelight is interested in his own sex.

we heart it
we heart it

When I saw the first episode of ‘How I Met Your Mother’ I instantly hated Barney- he was vile, repulsive, arrogant and misogynistic. He embodied every element I detested in a man, but how he went from being an irritating playboy to the most legen…wait for it…dary character ever to grace television is beyond me. But just as I was beginning to love him because of the character development, I found out that The Bro Barney Stinson who can make any woman go weak in her knees with his questionable methods is in fact in a relationship with chef David Burtka I began to respect him even more.

We heart it
We heart it

It is hard to talk about flawless gay men and miss out on Jim Parsons. Not only is he absolutely cute and charming but he also a fantastic actor who can make the most bland lines sound like a hilarious Steve Carell joke. If that wasn’t enough he is also in a relationship with Todd Spiewak and look at them. I don’t know which one I’m more heartbroken about losing!

we heart it
we heart it

But you know what truly shattered my selfish little heart into sharp, painful pieces? Ben freaking Winshaw! His quiet demeanor, thoughtful silence and intelligent smile quickly captivated my heart. I was utterly shocked to find out that the darkly magnificent Hamlet and confidently nerdy Q from Skyfall who quickly became the most adorable crush I ever had was married to Mark Bradshaw.

we heart it
we heart it

Over time I have realized that I get naturally and unfortunately attracted to gay men because they are proud of their vulnerability. They are dignified men with emphatic sensitivity, comforting softness and yet are strong enough to fight for whom they love against a cruel and judgemental world. Their sexual orientation has only made me respect their talent and support them as artists even more. Meanwhile, all the men I like are married or gay!

Share your thoughts

