The Girl with the Sonic-Screwdriver

If you are an absolute stranger whom I have never seen before in my whole life and randomly appears before me out of thin air, tightly grabs my hand and asks me to ‘Run!’, chances are I will. You could be a highly-functioning sociopathic detective secretly accusing me of a crime, a murderous psychopath out for his next kill or Hannibal Lecture with a taste for petite asian girls and yet I will follow you. Because I’m one of those ridiculous optimists who is living in denial and refusing to face disappointing reality. Because if you whisper in my ear ‘Run!’ I will assume you are a Time Lord from Gallifrey with two brave hearts.

we heart it
we heart it

Traditionally I have fallen for men who are tall, thin and irresistably intelligent. They do not have six-packs like Ryan Gosling or enormous biceps like Thor, they do not have tattoos like Johnny Depp or are not in a punk-rock band who hates totalitarian governments. But they have this effortless confidence in their flaws, they are aware of their short-comings and they have learned to accept themselves. They might have crooked noses or twitchy eyes but they know about it and often joke about it. What they have is unmatched intelligence, clever humour and weakening charm.

we heart it
we heart it

My friends are all pointlessly ridiculous, inexplicably immature and proudly unpopular. We don’t go to Starbucks in our Forever 21 shorts and click selfies with duck faces. We go to Comic-Con dressed as Daleks, Cybermen and Donna Badass Noble. We spend  our time watching Doctor Who, tweeting about Doctor Who, talking about Doctor Who, writing fan-fictions about Doctor Who, reading fan-fictions about Doctor Who, drawing art about Doctor Who and fantasizing about David Tennant.

we heart it
we heart it

My perception of beauty is very strange- I like characters with a tragic past, people with visible flaws, trees with shapeless branches, food with weird flavours, books with unexpected endings, boys with hidden talents, girls with independent personalities, parents with an open mind, spiritual leaders with a modern views, history with a scandalous plot-twist, schools that teach magic and adventures that change everything.

we heart it
we heart it

I have been watching Doctor Who since I was 9 and although today I am twice that age with a passion for complicated cinema, reading challenging books, listening to classic rock,drinking  camomile tea, swirling my hips to Coldplay and anything by Christopher Nolan- even with its tacky special effects and adorable villians Doctor Who will always hold a special place in my heart. And even in my sanity and at the height of my intelligence, every moment, every second I will always be ready to drop everything I hold dear, clench the palm of a smiling stranger and ‘Run!’

Share your thoughts

