Through The Police Box

I have a love/hate relationship with fan art. I love Sherlock Holmes lying dead on the ground with an outline of black angel wings around his body. But I hate Hermione Granger kissing Professor Snape (seriously?) The beauty of fan art lies in bringing irrelevant things together and depicting them in such a lovely way that you are forced to think, ‘Holy shit! This was meant to be!’ One of my favourite series of fan arts is a Doctor Who/ Disney Princesses crossover by Karen Hallion . Here I have put all my favourites and I will tell you why. Now feast your eyes!

Merida - Brave

I love this one because 1) Merida is my favourite disney princess, 2) The Doctor is not rescuing Merida, she is struggling and fighting to reach him (i.e. the exact opposite of a damsel in distress)

Rapunzel - Tangled

Rapunzel is my second favourite and this whole picture, her sitting outside the tower dejected with her life of predictability and monotony. Him flying mid-air in a TARDIS , offering her his hand and asking her to join him and have the privilege of seeing all of space and time. *quietly sobs*

Mulan - Mulan

Mulan is my third favourite and this picture is pure magic!

Cinderella - Cinderella

If this does not look like a scene from your ultimate dream fairy tale, I resent you. I don’t know why but I have strong feelings that if the Doctor really took disney princesses as his companions, he would fall hopelessly in love with Cinderella. I mean, just look at her.

Tinkerbell - Peter Pan

This drawing is the cleverest one of the lot. Tinkerbell in the small lamp above the TARDIS lighting up dark worlds for the Doctor. You can see the rest of the drawings here and trust me, they are all breath-taking.

David-Tennant-Overy-Excited-Gif-On-Doctor-Who

My favourite thing about this series is that the artist does not reveal the identity of the Doctor. It is a beautiful enigma as we try to figure out who it is and let our imaginations run wild. But I believe it must be the 10th Doctor, after-all he was (is) the most popular with women!

3 thoughts on “Through The Police Box”

Share your thoughts

