10 Movies you should be excited about in 2014

My tarot card reader said 2014 is going to be the year of the ‘Fab Films’. No she didn’t, I don’t believe in all that skull and globe paganism. But what I do believe in (apart from Rose Tyler) is films- the complicatedness and the simplicity and the mastery and the effect it has on human life. Very soon I will write a post on some of the best contemporary films I have seen( sorry Hitchcock) but now lets predict the future. My sixth sense says this year’s films are going to be better than last year’s. Don’t believe me? Check out these mind-blowing trailers and tell me I don’t know what I’m talking about!

Long list gear up!
Long list gear up!

1) Interstellar by Christopher Nolan

I have to start off with my favourite director off course- Nolan has undisputably given us some of the best movies and biggest grossers in two decades now. After masterpieces like Momento, The Prestige, the Batman Trilogy and Inception- he gives us an out-of-this-world story(literally).

2) Gone Girl by David Fincher

Fincher is undoubtedly my second favourite- after giving me my favourite movie ever (Fightclub) he went on to present greats like The Social Network and The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo.

3) Unbroken by Angelina Jolie

I got excited last year when I found out that Jolie was making a movie based on Louis Zapperini’s life. Now that the trailer is actually out, I can’t wait for Christmas Day.

4) Fury by David Ayer

I haven’t seen any of Ayer’s films before but after Inglorious Bastards I am ready to watch any war film with Brad Pitt in it. The supporting cast of Shia LaBeouf (yes Shia, I forgive your antics because you are a fantastic actor) and Logan Lerman also looks pretty rad.

5) Boyhood by Richard Linklater 

They are calling it a ‘once in a lifetime’ phenomenon. Again I haven’t seen any of Linklater’s works but man that is one hell of a trailer.

6) The Disappearance of Eleanor Rigby  by Ned Benson

Jessica Chastain from The Help and Zero Dark Thirty, James McAvoy from Atonement and X-Men Franchise- need I say more?

7)Clouds of Sils Maria by Olivier Assaya

I am excited to see Kristen Stewart and Chloe Grace Moretz actually try something that is challenging.

8) Foxcatcher by Bennet Miller

This is my favourite film in this 10 films line-up because all three central actors are trying something they have never done before. After watching Miller’s Moneyball I honestly can’t wait.

9) The Homesman by Tommy Lee Jones

Tommy Lee Jones and Hilary Swank transporting three mentally challenged (bloody insane would be more appropriate) women across the country. Oscar Stuff right there!

10) Maps to the Stars by David Croenberg

David Croenberg- is there a need for any other reason. But surprisingly I am most excited about Mia Wasikowa’s transformative role in this film.

You go!
You go!

Honorable Mentions: These are also fantastic movies by brilliant movie-makers but they are just not my cup of tea. But that doesn’t mean you won’t like ’em. Check out the trailers!

Two Days One Night by the Dardenne Brothers

After watching Marion Cotillard in No Country For Old Men I can honestly watch her even if she’s doing a toothpaste commercial.

Magic in the Moonlight by Woody Allen

Colin Firth being the superb actor that he is, Emma Stone being Emma Stone. A typical Woody Allen periodic romantic comedy, too beautiful!

All in all, it looks like the movie theatres are going to be very crowded with one fantastic movie coming out after another. Also if you have some time (and understand Hindi) check out the trailer for ‘Haider’ by Vishal Bharadwaj. I am not very fond of the Bollywood films made in my country (I honestly hate them) but Bharadwaj is a fantastic film-maker and the story is based on ‘Hamlet’ by William Shakespeare! I am so excited for this movie and thy should be too.

 

 

 

 

Share your thoughts

