Around the world in 5 books

Today The Daily Post asked me to go through all the black and white adventures I have been on in books and select three which I would like to actually experience in reality. For the sake of this post let us all assume that I am a very brave young woman who jumps into dangerous situations without a thought instead of the whinny, pouty, sulking wuss that I actually am.  First they give me such an incredible inspiration for a post and then they tell me to choose only three. So I’m going to cheat a little and instead select five of the fictional adventures and events that I would like to experience.

1)Go to Neverland with Peter Pan

Peter Pan by J.M.Barrie
Peter Pan by J.M.Barrie

J.M. Barrie’s ‘Peter Pan’ was my first childhood bedtime story and will always be my favourite fairy tale. When I was a kid I always believed that I liked this story because of the obvious attractions- flying, mermaids, pirates and never growing up. But as a teenager I learned in psychology that we all have two selves inside us- the one who we are and the one who we want to be. After some self-introspection I realized that Wendy, the ordinary Wendy who is responsible, thoughtful and caring but bored with her life is who I am and Peter, the daring, mischevious and hilarious buffoon who never grows up is who I want to be. That was when I realized how truly deeply these ‘stories’ affect us on a subconscious level. So yes I would love to  have a stranger jump into my room (but not stalkers) chasing his shadow and taking me flying through the clouds to Neverland.

2) Be a student of Hogwarts in Marauder’s Era.

Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban by J.K.Rowling
Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban by J.K.Rowling

My childhood was rather simple- I do not remember going to the park with my friends or going on picnics with my family. I remember being curled up on my bed and crying over Sirius Black’s death. Like most people from my generation, my entire childhood can be described in two words- Harry Potter. So I would love to actually be a student of Hogwarts, be a chaser for the Quidditch team, learn to fight monsters in Defense Against Dark Arts and finally (oh finally) find out what my patronus is. But as much as I love the Harry Potter books I want to live in the time of the Marauders. I honestly believe I do not belong with the Golden Trio saving the world, I belong with Moony, Wormtail, Padfoot and Prongs causing trouble for poor McGonagall.

3) Be a Queen of Narnia

The Chronicles of Narnia by C.S.Lewis
The Chronicles of Narnia by C.S.Lewis

Wars are bloody and wars are brilliant. When they happen in books they are the most excellent plot twist which changes the course of the whole story but when they happen in real life they only cause death and destruction. I would love to live in Narnia amongst fauns who dance and centaurs who are warriors and trees who direct me to my destination. But most of all, I would be immeasurably honoured to live alongside Aslan *bows*.

4) Save France with The Three Musketeers.

The Three Musketeers by Alexandre Dumas
The Three Musketeers by Alexandre Dumas

The way I related with Wendy and Peter at a psychological level, this book affected the sort of people I was looking for to make friends with. D’Artagnan is one of my favourite characters in plays along with Hamlet. He is impulsive, rash and mindlessly jumps into situations of trouble. He is also a bloody awesome swordsman and a trustworthy companion. The Three Musketeers by Alexandre Dumas in my all time favourite play and I would love to live in 17th century and fight carry out dangerous liaisons for Louis XIV with Athos, Porthos and my favourite Aramis.

5)Go ‘cluing for looks’ with Sherlock Holmes and John Watson.

The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle
The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle

My favourite mystery thriller, my favourite TV show, my favourite pair of cheekbones(sorry I’m getting carried away). I don’t want this adventure for the adrenaline of solving crimes but I want this simply to witness the unreal genius of Sherlock Holmes. I would love to have him read me analytically and I would proudly beam at him as he revealed things about me even I wasn’t aware of. I would honestly sell my soul for this to happen.

we are all explorers trying to find ourselves
We Heart It

One of my friends who is majoring in ‘Child Psychology’ told me that I am addicted to books because I am unsatisfied with my life and damn straight she’s right! There is nothing spectacular about waking up everyday with the same family, going to the same college, interacting with the same friends and doing the same things over and over again. How mundane, pointless and forgettable! But books ah, they are like time-machines. They transport you to another time, another place and introduce you to characters who leave a mark on your heart. Stephen King was right, books truly are a uniquely portable magic.

4 thoughts on “Around the world in 5 books”

Share your thoughts

