And then there were 7

Today The Daily Post forced me into a state of chronic frustration and existential dilemma by asking me that if there was ‘one’ object that my friends would immediately identify me with, what would it be? And quite honestly it sounded like ‘If we found your completely burnt dead-body, by noticing which object can your friends identify that it’s really you?’. It is not very polite to pry on other people’s death but at the same time, thank you for getting me thinking about this. There are simply too many, that is my problem- it is either too many or none. So here are 7 objects that I always have with me wherever I’m going.

1) My Rayban Aviators

Now we talking!

I live in Mumbai and the temperature here is boiling hot, so I have to wear glasses unless I want to get cancer of the eyeballs. I actually got this pair for my Father on his birthday last year, but he always forgets to wear them. So I use them instead, they are the typical, good old gladiators and I love them because they have this vintage appeal to them.

2) My pink leopard print scarf

Here it is

Is there any girl in this world who doesn’t feel fierce in a leopard print scarf? Mine is not the usual fiesty scarf though, it has soft pink undertones and uncanny leopard spots. It is also made of chiffon and I use it to cover my hair everyday from the harmful rays of the sun.

3) My purple spectacles

#Nerd

Oh yeah, I am four-eyed! My parents bought me a laptop when I turned 17 and naturally a month later my eye-sight was so terrible I was in dire need of glasses. I hated them when I got the pair, I would forget wearing, cleaning them regularly and taking care of them. But now after almost 2 years they have become a part of my personality. Captain America has his shield, I have my glasses.

4) Red lipstick

You so lovely.

I have tried nude, berry, peach, pale pink and coral but red puts me in an instant state of sexy. No it doesn’t physically change any of my features (I look like a scrawny, specky git all the time) but they work wonders on my mentality. I also don’t press the lipstick aggressively on my lips, I simply dab it on few spots and then spread it all over my lips with a cotton bud. But it’s surprising how a bit of colour can elevate my self-confidence.

5) My usual green bottle

Keep it up Louis

Never, never, never step out of the house without a bottle of water! I leave my house in the morning and refill my bottle twice before I get back home. I cannot emphasize enough on this, drink loads and loads of water.

6)  Some chocolate

OK Professor

Just in case the dementors attack. Also there are many children begging on the trains, I do not like giving them money because they will probably buy cigarettes or give it to their parents who will only spend it on alcohol. Instead I always keep a few loose chocolates or  small bars of candy, it brightens every child’s face.

7) A heavy book

*blinks*

Duh!

I wish I was one of those people who can distance themselves from objects but sadly I am materialistic. Not in a ‘I want a BMW, that is the motive of my life’ sort of a materialistic but a ‘don’t throw away my old blue jeans because it is my favourite jeans’ materialistic. I have a pink and white top which I splattered some paint on while decorating for the college festival and I never removed the paint because it reminded me of all the amazing memories I created during the fest. I am not generally very emotional or attached to people, but there are some things like my first cell phone or my mockingjay necklace which will remain special.

Share your thoughts

